Monuments in Dubrovnik you should see

Dubrovnik is a city in Croatia, located in southern Dalmatia, at the Adriatic Sea. In recent times, it became famous for being the filming location of the iconic tv show „Game of Thrones”. But even if you’re not a passionate fan of this series, the city of Dubrovnik still has plenty to offer for all tourists, no matter how old they are or what they’re interested in. Here are some of the greatest attractions in Dubrovnik that everyone should visis at least once.

The walls of Dubrovnik

The walls of Dubrovnik are a complex of defensive stone wallls saurrounding the city of Dubrovnik. They are considered to be one of the greatest medieval fortification systems.
The oldest fortification systems surrounding the city were most likely wooden palisades.

The city walls, which were mostly constructed between the 12th and 17th centuries, have been carefully preserved to present day because of the skill and knowledge of the construction workers, who gave the walls their shape.

The Sponza Palace

The Sponza Palace, also known as Divona, is a 16th-century palace located in Dubrovnik, in the northern part of the Luza square, right next ot the clock tower.

The name of the palace originated from the Latin word „spongia”, meaning „sponge”, which suggests that this was originally a place for gathering rainwater. It was designed by three local architects – Paskoje Milicevic and the Andrijic brothers from Korcula. In terms of architecture, the palace combines two styles – gothic and renaissance. Visitors should pay special attention to the relief, which shows Jesus with the angels.

In the beginning, the rooms located at the bottom floor of the building served as storage room, and the higher floors were the place of culture and science activity. At the seconds floor there was the national mint, where the coins of Dubrovnik were minted. After Worlod War II, the building was transformed into the Socialist Revolution Museum.

Looking for a guided tour of Dubrovnik?


Lovrijenac is a fort in the complex of the strengthenings of Dubrovnik, outside the city walls, between the small Uvala Kolorina and Uvala Pile bays. The fort was named after st. Lawrence.

The fort was siouated on a rock, which reaches to 37 meters above the sea level. It is a three-storey building on the plan of a triangle. From the side of the land and the sea, the walls have the thickness of 4-12 meters mand the ceiling has the thickness of 1.5 meters. The fort could be reached by crossing two drawbridges and two gates. The crew consisted of 20-25 soldiers, and their leader was changed every month.

According to legend, this fort was constructed in the early 11th century, three months after the people of Dubrovnik learned about the plans of the Republic of Vienna to construct a fort, which was supposed to threaten Dubrovnik. But in reality, the first historical mention of the fort originated from 1301 and tells us about the choice of its leader. The fort was regularly repaired. It was also reconstructed after the partial destruction during the earthquake in 1667.

The Rectors’ Palace

The Rectors’ Palace in Dubrovnik used to be the headquarters of the city government during the Ragusa Republic. It is one of the most meaningful monuments of the city and a place of cultural meetings.

The first historical mentions of this place date all the way back to the 13th century, when the location of the palace as we know it today was occupied by a stronghold castle, surrounded by four corner towers. In 1435, the castle was destroyed, probably because of the explosion of black powder.

After being constructed in the 15th century, the Rectors’ Palace was functioning as the headquarters of the city government of the Ragus Republic, especially the prince-recotr,who was chosen for a year or a month by 29 of the greatest noble families.

Currently, the Rectors’ Palace is the location of the cultural and historical department of the Dubrovnik Museum. Its most imposing collection is a gathering of more than 300 paintings created betweenthe 15th and 19th centuries, as well as a small number of minor paintings created by the members of the so-called „Dubrovnik school”.

The church of st. Blaise

The church of st. Blaise in Dubrovnik is a baroque-styled church under the calling of the patron of the city of Dubrovnik located at the Luza square. It was constructed in the place of an older, romanesque temple from the 14th century. It was reconstructed countless times because of the destruction caused by a fire in 1706 and two earthquakes – in 1667 and 1979.

The history of the church dates back to Febraury 26th 1348, when the decisio was made to construct a church under the calling of st. Blaise ar Platea Communis, in the palce of the current temple – in front of the town hall. The construction of this new church was supposed to express the political aspirations of the people of Dubrovnik and liberation from the Republic of Venice.

The temple got its current look and equipment during the reconstruction after the fire of 1706, which was supervised based on the plans of a Venetian builder named Marino Gropelli. The church has a richly ornamented facade with a portal with wide columns.

The Assumption Cathedral

The Assumption Cathedral is a Roman Catholic cathedral and the headquarters of thw Diocese of Dubrovnik. It was constructed in the place of several older cathedral, which originaated from the 7th, 10th and 11th centuries.

After the major destruction caused by an earthquake in 1667, the Senate of Dubrovnik ordered an Italian architect named Andrea Bufalini to begin the construction of a new cathedral.

The building suffered severe damage during the 1979 Montenegro earthquake.