Osijek is a city located in easter Croatia, in the historical land of Slavonia, upon the river Drawa.
The history of the museum dates all the way back to Roman times, when a military settlement called Mursa existed here. The city was first mentioned under the name Osijek in 1196. For centuries it fulfilled the strategic function of protection the passage through the river Drawa.
Today, this city has plenty of attractions for tourists to enjoy. Here are some places you should definitely visit during your vacation in Osijek:
Tvrda – this is the Old Town in Osijek, situated slightly to the east from the current centre of the city. Since the early 12th century, Osijek was a trading center and a harbor, thanks to its location on the trail from Pecs and Buda to the south. Between 1525 and 1687, Osijek was part of the Ottoman Empire. During that period, the city didn’t go through any major changes, but the places of Islamic worship, which were created at that time, gave it an oriental character.
The Osijek Concathedral of st. Peter and st. Paul – this is the second cathedral church of the Dakovo-Osijek Archdiocese, constructed in the neo-Gothic style. The Osijek concathedral was built by Josip Juraj Strossmayer, who later became the bishop of the diocese of Dakovo amd Srijem. In 1732, the Upper Town Parish Church was constructed, but shortly afterwards, it turned out to be too small as a church for new buildings in Osijek.
In 1894, this church was demolished, and a decision was made to construct the concathedral as we know it today. It is currently a splendid neo-gothic construction with a 94-meter high tower and three naves. It has a total surface of 1062 square meters.
The outside of the church was completed in 1898, and two years later, in 1900, the church was consecrated. Meanwhile, the interior was completed between 1938 and 1942.
The Museum of Slavonia – This is one of the oldest and mos crucial museum institutions in Croatia. It was established in 1877, and its initial name was „the Museun of the Free and Royal City of Osijek”. Franjo Sedlakovic, who was a wholesaler and antique collector from Osijek, donated his rich collection of money, weaponsa and medals to the museum.
In the beginning, the museum mostly had an archaeological and numismatic orientation. In 1888, it was moved to the newly constructed building of the Royal High School and housed in two rooms.
Over time, the Museum of Slavonia has become the largest museum complex in Croatia, with nearly half a million items. In 1994, the museum gained the national status.
The purpose of the museum is to systematically collect, preserve, restore, conserve and protect the artefacts in its collection.
The Museum of Fine Arts – this museum was established in 1954 and its history is closely connected to the Museum of Slavonia. In 1948, it became necessary to create a separate art collection and present it to the public, so J. Bosendorfer opened the first individual exhibition and presented it in a building at 24 European Avenue in Osijek.
But the gallery, which had just started to show its collected artistic wealth to the public, had to leacve its facilities because of the needs for more space. That’s why the gallery was shut down in 1955, and its collections, which currently consist of more than 1000 pieces, was moved to its current location.